i’m challenged (and procrastinating)

I should really get started on my homework, but..whatever. I will in a few minutes.

My computer is finally working again after a painful three days of unexpected freezes and restart after restart. I was mostly worried that all the music in my iTunes library would be deleted (for the third time?). You would think that I would learn from my mistakes and back up my music. I sort of do…I mean, it’s on my iPod and I actually have a lot of burned cds. So yesterday when my mom and I were considering a complete system restore for my poor laptop, I rushed to back up the music in my library. It turned out that the only music that really needed to be backed up on cd was Jason Mraz’s “We Sing. We Dance. We Break Things” album. Quite a relief.

So here’s the bone I have to pick with modern society, what grinds my gears (shout out to JSA Yale alumni :P). Why does everything have to become electronic and computerized? I mean it’s cleaner for the environment, sure, and it sure looks purty, but really. Don’t you think we lose a little bit of something classic about us, about history, when everything becomes electronic? Here are some examples:

  • Chalkboards → White boards → Smartboards (they’re cool, I’ll admit. Look them up.)
  • Newspapers → Blogs
  • Passing notes in class → Texting in class
  • Maps → GPSs
  • Public phones → Cellphones
  • Letters → Emails
  • Greeting Cards → eCards
  • 8-tracks → CDs → Abstract files on a computer. Cool.
  • Blind dates → eHarmony
  • Polaroid cameras/pictures → ….idk..some camera that’ll print pictures automatically when plugged into a printer? Neat.

And the most painful one of all:

  • Books → Amazon Kindles :(

These were just the first to come to mind but I’m sure there are more. I know there are.

So, okay. I know I must be acting like a cranky old man– a cranky old woman who is too attached to the past to let go and embrace new technology. I’m not. I swear I’m not. These things are all more efficient; in every way they seem to be upgrades from the past ways of life. But my goodness, can’t we slow down a minute? I’ll be the first to say that I think I might actually be addicted to my computer, but when it crashes and I have no idea how to fix it I want to cry. Computers seem really unreliable and inconsistent to me.

And I think we as a society are too dependent on technology… That’s just my comment, not to incite change or anger in any way. I’m not trying to persuade anyone, really, because I use most of the things listed above regularly.

But come on, man. Don’t get rid of books. I was talking to someone the other day about that Kindle thing, and he said that it’s pretty much inevitable: pretty soon books will become obsolete. God, I hope that day doesn’t come. I know for a fact that I am not the only person who gets excited feeling the pages of a new book as they fall through my fingers, and smelling the paper and the ink as they blow past my face. Ahhh. Of all these newfangled inventions, I have to say that it is the one I am least in favor of.

Leave a Reply

