September 19th, 2010

It’s weird. I always thought of college as the end-all-be-all of my young life. It was the chariot driving off into the sunset. There were those famed student athletes who signed their college years away to be stars at some school and there were those smarties who got into the big schools, destined to spend the rest of their forseeable future in wood-paneled study halls with sophisticated mugs of coffee and cigarettes tucked neatly into their breast pockets.

I’m starting to realize that maybe I had miscalculated something…

My whole life I have looked to the horizon and seen college sitting there as some beacon of my future. I am going to college, I would tell myself. And when I get there, I will be truly happy. What a startling shock it was for me when, upon arrival, I realized that the laws of life are not suspended in college. They might even be magnified. I still procrastinate. I still have to take classes I don’t like. I still feel awkward in social situations. And my clothes are the same. I’m just poorer.

It’s strange though to realize that my life has really just begun. I’m a little baby.

No pressure.

Leave a Reply

