we are all megaphones:

Why blogging will take over the world.

Get Started.

I started this blog almost a year ago now, and back then, the concept of blogging seemed like a novel idea to me. It was a way to get my words out for everyone to read if they felt like it. It was a separate place in the big, wide world that was just for me. It was my own little world. A little spot of heaven, of my own heaven, filled with words. I pasted my blog’s url in the info box under my profile picture on Facebook and I watched as my daily views grew exponentially. It felt good. Within months, I noticed that three other people had started their own WordPress blogs. One was good, with impeccable grammar and thoughtful content. Another was a hasty creation that reminded me of a middle school collage of incomplete thoughts and copy-and-pastes of others’ ideas. The third was a blatant duplicate of my blog, which has since been “put under,” you could say. This person clearly didn’t so much find joy in writing as she did the idea of having a blog that would make her seem intellectual, creative, and thoughtful.

Regardless of the quality of these blogs, their simple existence made me think about the allure of having a space on the internet to call my own: isn’t that why MySpace was so popular in the first place? It was the not so popular big brother to Facebook, but I think it offered something unique that Facebook never will, and that is customization. During the first five years of this new millennium, high school freshmen everywhere mastered simple html language that allowed them to code their Myspace profiles in a unique way, designing digital architecture that would house their own existence – their personalities – and display them for everyone they knew to see and judge. I’m not sure what exactly contributed to Myspace’s demise in popular culture, but somewhere around 2007, Facebook took over and it hasn’t been challenged in popularity since.

Except, I think, with the advent of Tumblr.

I first noticed that my friends used Tumblr around the same time I started blogging. Tumblr is another blog platform that is extremely user-friendly and aesthetically customizable. It allows users to “follow” blogs and the dashboard displays all the posts by blogs the user follows, similar to the home page of Facebook or Twitter. Users can also “reblog” posts they like, enabling a faster, efficient transmission of information. I like to describe Tumblr as the lovechild of Facebook and WordPress.

Tumbleblogs are popping up all over the place. What used to be a hipster hobby for posting semi-intellectual musings is now a common extension of the college student’s social media world. And it’s not just Tumblr. I’ve seen a number of Blogspot and Blogger blogs surfacing as well. I have to admit though, that the majority of the blogs are filled with poorly written filler and diary entries of days with obvious motives to make the writer look a certain way to his readers. But again, I suppose it’s not so much the content that matters, but rather that they even exist at all. It’s clear to me that people want places of their own. They want places where they can spew out whatever rubbish comes to their minds and they like the idea of other people reading what they have to say. Sounds to me like narcissism at its finest.

“I think writers are the most narcissistic people. Well, I mustn’t say this, I like many of them, a great many of my friends are writers.”

-Sylvia Plath

3 responses to “we are all megaphones:

  1. I hesitated between this and Blogspot when I was starting mine. I think those two tend to have more blogs that are actual blogs, since there’s not much else to do here than write.

  2. That’s so true. There are SO many other things to do on Tumblr, but I think that’s why people like it so much. Their whole blog can just be reblogs and it still gives off a semblance of character. It’s a lot of fun though.

  3. Alex! This is completely random. I read that you had a wordpress– creep (my bad). I tumblr also. It’s just too simple and creative to pass by.

Leave a Reply

